Drug Penalties

utah-drug-penalties-attorney-david-laurence-altman-st-george-drug-penalties-lawyerMarijuana Possession & Possession With Intent To Distribute
 
Simple Possession, A Class B Misdemeanor:  One ounce or less
  1. Up to six months of jail time
  2. Up to $1,940 in fines plus assessment
  3. Drug Screening and Drug Abuse Programs required
 Simple Possession or Distribution, A Class A Misdemeanor:   One ounce to one pound
  1. Up to 12 months of jail time
  2. Up to $4,790 in fines plus assessment
  3. Drug Screening and Drug Abuse Programs required
 Possession With Intent To Distribute, A 3rd Degree Felony:   One pound to 100 pounds
  1. Up to five years in Utah State Prison
  2. Up to $9,540 in fines plus assessment
 Possession With Intent To Distribute, A 2nd Degree Felony:   More than 100 pounds
  1. Up to 15 years in Utah State Prison
  2. Fines up to $19,040 and an assessment

Other Drugs; Possession and Possession With Intent To Distribute

Misdemeanor Drug Convictions

ClassPossible Jail TermPossible Fine
Class AUp to one year in jailUp to $2,500
Class BUp to six months in jailUp to $1,000
Class CUp to 90 days in jailUp to $750

 

Felony Drug Convictions

DegreePossible Prison TermPossible Fine
First DegreeFive years to life in prisonUp to $10,000
Second DegreeOne to 15 years in prisonUp to $10,000
Third DegreeZero to five years in prisonUp to $5,000

 

Sentence guidelines: Do not include other terms that may be included by the court upon entry of plea.

Back to top